top of page
Emile Francois Ouchard (Pere) Violin Bow, France, Circa 1930

*SOLD or NO LONGER AVAILABLE * Listing for archive purposes only, see violins bows tab for current inventory.

This bow is a unique example of this maker's output. It is in an exceptional state of preservation and possesses excellent handling and sound capabilities: strong without being stiff, full with a fast response.


WEIGHT: 62 grams

MOUNTS: Silver and Ebony



Émile François Ouchard began his apprenticeship in 1886 at the workshop of Eugène Cuniot-Hury in Mirecourt. Following the death of Cuniot-Hury in 1910, Ouchard stayed with Cuniot's widow to assist her in the running of the workshop, and so came to inherit the Cuniot-Hury business.


In 1923, he opened his own workshop at 1, rue Canon in Mirecourt. By then Emile Ouchard had become a prolific bow maker, and prior to opening his own workshop had worked for Joseph Aubry, Paul Bisch & Olivier, Georges Coné, Charles Enel, Jean Lavest and Cuniot-Hury.


Emile François Ouchard died in his hometown of Mirecourt in 1951. Emile Ouchard used only one stamp during his career: « Emile Ouchard ». He was succeeded by his son and pupil, Émile Auguste Ouchard (1900 - 1969).

Emile Francois Ouchard (Pere) Violin Bow, France, Circa 1930

    bottom of page